My Meeting with the Surgeon

I met with my new surgeon yesterday. I loved him! He was so helpful and friendly and open. I went in so nervous that something would go wrong because I had such a horrible encounter with the last surgeon, but I couldn’t have asked for a better meeting. He addressed all my questions, even my silly ones.

He did an upper GI while I was there and was pleased with what he saw. He saw nothing that would complicate the surgery. Since I recently had a sleep study and already know I have sleep apnea, I don’t need to worry about that aspect.

My next steps are to get the psych eval and to get medical clearance from my doctor. I called my doctor and left a message for her letting her know she needs to send a letter of medical clearance for the surgery. I got a call from the psychiatrist they work with yesterday afternoon and they set me up for an appointment on May 8th. They said it’s a 2-3 hour assessment, and then I’ll come back the following week to discuss the report they’ll send to the surgeon. Then, assuming I pass the psych eval, and then send the report around the 15th or 16th, it takes about 30 days, the surgeon said, for my insurance to approve the surgery. He said we could be looking at surgery in mid- to late-June.

Things are finally moving forward, and so quickly! I’m so excited!

 

5 thoughts on “My Meeting with the Surgeon

  1. I am thrilled for you! I know you’ll do fine with the psych eval. They’ll just want to know you have realistic expectations, that you don’t believe that everything wrong with your life today will be solved just by losing the weight. They’ll want to make sure you don’t suffer from severe depression or present a suicide risk, or a psychotic disorder or some other serious mental illness that might interfere with the healing process and your wonderful post-surgical life. You go girl! Let me know if I can help.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

