Nutrition and Psych Eval Updates

Yesterday morning I finally had my follow-up with the Psychiatrist. We went over the report he’s going to send over to the surgeon and he officially recommended me for surgery! I was so relieved and excited when I heard those words. I felt like the initial meeting with him went well, but I was still so nervous that for some reason he would feel I was a bad candidate for surgery. Now I just have to wait for my surgeon’s office to get the paperwork from him and they can finally submit everything to my insurance! I’m scheduled for surgery on June 26th, so hopefully that doesn’t need to get pushed back due to delays with insurance.

This morning, I did a teleconference pre-op nutrition class. It had a lot of good information, and not just nutrition, but information on what to expect from the hospital stay, what to bring to the hospital, and so forth. She also talked about preparing for surgery, such as the pre-op diet and bowel cleanse. Following surgery, I will be on liquids only for a week, which is a much shorter time than some people I’ve seen, and I’m not complaining. Then I get to move on to pureed foods. At 3-4 weeks I can move onto soft food, and finally at 6 weeks I move to solids. Each stage has its own requirements and rules and I have them all listed out. It’s going to be quite the journey. One that I’m oh-so-excited for!

2 thoughts on “Nutrition and Psych Eval Updates

  1. This is wonderful news. Having just gotten home from the hospital myself for diverticulitis, I can tell you about the clear liquids. For two days I had only water, broth, apple juice, tea, Jell-o, and lemon ice. I was so hungry that I consumed all they gave me. I’m not dealing with bariatric surgery as you will be, but my gut is very sore from the infection I had, and from the Cipro and Flagyl (powerful antibiotics) they gave me to kill the infection. So doing what they tell you will help minimize your discomfort. I’m so glad you are getting such good advice to prepare you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

