Anticipation

My surgery is tomorrow morning! I have to be at the hospital in 22 hours. I will be in bed in about 11 hours. I’m so full of anticipation. I don’t know if my excitement has ever been higher. I literally can’t sit still. I keep finding things around the house to do, last minute tasks that need completing, because I just can’t settle. I feel weak from not having had food in 3 days, but my energy is high from adrenaline. It’s a weird feeling.

My bag is packed except for my last minute items. I need to take a shower tonight with my special soap before I go to bed. I set aside clean pajamas for tonight to make sure I would have something absolutely clean to wear the night before surgery after my special shower. I have to shower again in the morning with the special soap before I leave for the hospital. I have, I think, enough popsicles and broth to last the day, though I am low on Jello. But I think I’ll be able to get through the day.

I painted my toenails yesterday, red to match my fingers. I was told by my hospital that having my nails done was fine, which I was super excited about. Here’s what my fingers look like:

 

Now it’s just a waiting game. Waiting for the next 11 hours to pass. Hoping I can sleep tonight through the anticipation and excitement. Waiting through the early morning tomorrow. Waiting at the hospital tomorrow. Waiting. Waiting. But soon, oh so soon, my life will change for the better! I am so ready!!

7 thoughts on “Anticipation

  1. Sleep well and relax. ❤️ You’ve done all you can to prepare and now it’s all in the hands of the medical staff and your Higher Power. 🌞 I’m sending light and healing thoughts your way. ❤️ Sunny

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

